Scotch whisky categories
There are five types of Scotch Whisky which were redefined in 2009.

1.Single Malt Scotch Whisky
Single Malt Scotch Whisky is produced in batches using the copper pot still distillation process (minimum two times). It is made from 100% malted barley from a single distillery. From 23 November 2012, Single Malt Scotch Whisky must be bottled in Scotland.

2.Blended Malt Scotch Whisky
Blended Malt Scotch Whisky is a blend of two or more single malt whiskies from different distilleries.

3.Single Grain Scotch Whisky
A Scotch Whisky distilled at a single distillery from water and malted barley with or without whole grains of other malted or unmalted cereals, and which does not comply with the definition of Single Malt Scotch Whisky.

4.Blended Grain Scotch Whisky
A blended grain Scotch is similar to that of a blended malt, except it utilizes two or more single grain Scotch whiskies from at least two separate distilleries. They are then blended together to create a single batch of whisky.

5.Blended Scotch Whisky
A blended whisky is a combination of any number of malt and grain whiskies. They are chosen, then “married” to complement and enhance their flavours. Around 95% of Scotch whisky is sold as blends. An age statement on a whisky blend refers to the youngest whisky in the bottle.

Other regional whisk(e)y categories
American whiskey: American comes in several varieties. Most notable are Rye whiskey (made from the mash that consists of at least 51% rye), Corn whiskey (at least 80% corn mash), Malt whiskey (at least 51% malted barley) and Bourbon whiskey (at least 51% corn maize). All of the types mentioned must be distilled to have maximum of 80% alcohol by volume, without of use of any coloring and flavoring additives. Required aging time for American whiskey is 2 years.

Irish Whiskey: This is any whiskey made in Eire (Republic of Ireland) or in Northern Ireland. Unlike Scotch, any malted cereal grains can be used in any proportion. Like Scotch, it must be aged in wooden casks for a minimum of three years.

Japanese Whisky: Japan has been producing whisky since the 1920's, and is now producing some of the most sought after whisky in the world. Their whisky is produced in the same way that the Scots produce theirs, under the same categories, with the exception that some of their whisky is matured in Japansese Mizunara oak.

Canadian Whisky: Canadian whisky is a type of whisky produced in Canada. Most Canadian whiskies are blended multi-grain liquors containing a large percentage of corn spirits, and are typically lighter and smoother than other whisky styles.

English whisky: English whisky production had its highs and lows over the centuries. After over 100 years of stagnation and the decay of the production at Bristol and Liverpool cities, newly formed whisky brewery started producing whisky in 2006.